Top Banner
For Immediate Release


Lowe's Buchan Club Awards Scholarships Through CVCC Foundation, Inc.

Scholarships funded by the Lowe’s Buchan Retired Employees Group were recently presented to five students majoring in drama at Catawba Valley Community College through the CVCC Foundation, Inc. 

Recipients include Kayla Cooper, Nikkita Gibson, James Gaither, Sthr(sic) Dagenhart and David Ospina.

Retired Lowe’s Companies, Inc. senior manager and CVCC Foundation, Inc. chairman David H. Sain presented the scholarships. The Buchan Club was founded by Sain and other retired Lowe’s Companies, Inc. employees specifically to benefit community college students.

Sain is a 1964 graduate of CVCC’s business administration program. He is one of the founding members of the CVCC Foundation, Inc., board of directors in 1984 and served as the board’s first secretary/treasurer.

Cooper is a 2010 graduate of St. Stephens High School and the daughter of Tracy Cooper. She will graduate from CVCC’s Drama Program in 2015.

Gibson graduated from homeschool in 2009 and is the daughter of Dale and Stacy Gibson of Hickory. She serves as the Theatre Arts Club secretary and will graduate from CVCC’s Drama Program in 2015.

Gaither graduated from Newton Conover High School in 2009 and is the son of Kathy and James Gaither Sr. of Conover.  He is president of the Theatre Arts Club and enrolled in the Drama Program.

Dagenhart is a graduate of West Iredell High School and resident of Stony Point. She is enrolled in the Drama Program and will graduate this spring.

Ospina is a 2011 graduate of Alexander Central High School and the son of Maria and Gustavo Ospina. A Hickory resident, he is a member of the Theatre Arts Club and enrolled in the Drama Program.

The mission of the CVCC Foundation, Inc. is to foster and promote the growth, progress, and welfare of CVCC. For more information on giving, contact Teresa Biggs, executive director of the CVCC Foundation, Inc., 828-327-7000, ext. 4288,

Pictured are (from left) David Sain, chairman of the CVCC Foundation, Inc., board and member of the Buchan Retired Employees Group; Kayla Cooper; James Gaither; Nikkita Gibson; Sthr(sic) Dagenhart; Kim Stinson, drama faculty; and David Ospina.

2550 US HIGHWAY 70 SE • HICKORY, NC • 28602-8302 • 828.327.7000
Updated 10.30.2008: Administrator